Zelda: The Hyrule Fantasy BETA?

Archive

Post by Archive » June 28th, 2019, 7:07 am

posted by djandy76 on Aug 10, 2009:

Hi everyone,

As you'll no doubt notice from my status, I'm quite new to all of this, but didn't want that to stand in the way of asking the more seasoned members of the forum to help me determine if I've gained possession of a rare piece of gaming history.

Okay, here goes, from the beginning...

About a month ago, I won an auction for a so-called beta version of the original Japanese Zelda no denstesu for the Famicom Disk System. Before bidding, I scutinised the pictures as thoroughly as I could and, since I read Japanese, was able to quickly spot the "開発用ディスクカード" ("Development Disk Card") label on the disk itself. Being an avid collector of gaming rarities as well as currently working in the industry has taught me that early builds of games tend to contain large amounts of material that either gets changed or removed altogether from the final builds.

Anyway, after finally finding some free time, I was able to photo the disk, case and associated packaging to present to the members of this forum. I must stress that the software has not been tested by me yet as I don't have the necessary hardware.

So, if there is anyone who can help me determine the authenticity of this disk, please don't hesitate to reply or send me a PM. Ultimately, I'd like to try the item out on an actual Famicom Disk System, but I've read that the drives tend break down (something to do with a rubber band?) and I really don't want to put the disk in any danger.

Archive

posted by Tenchi on Aug 10, 2009:

wow nice, I have never seen this before :love:

do you wanna sell it :redface:

Archive

Hi Tenchi!

First things first, I want to get the thing properly verified.

Once I know exactly what I have, I may consider selling, but I'll probably be happier with a trade. I collect all things Biohazard and also developer hardware (debug machines and such).